Debates of the Senate  
1st Session, 41st Parliament, Volume 148, Issue 155
  Wednesday, April 24, 2013
Statement: Queen's Diamond Jubilee Medal Recipients
Hon. Lillian Eva Dyck: Honourable senators, on Friday, April 26, I will be hosting a Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal ceremony at the Saskatchewan Native Theatre in Saskatoon for the recipients whom I nominated and who received their medals from the Office of the Governor General throughout the year.

The medal recipients are Darlene Lanceley, for her long- standing exceptional work in many aspects of Aboriginal education; Myrna LaPlante, for her dedication to helping the families of missing and murdered Aboriginal Women; Dr. Priscilla Settee, for her outstanding work on local and international indigenous environmental issues; Darlene R. Okemaysim-Sicotte, for her dedication to helping the families of missing and murdered Aboriginal women; Dr. Carlos S. Maningas, for his leadership in the Philippine Association of Saskatchewan; Melanie Elliott, for her award-winning community science programs; Walter and Maria Linklater, for their long-standing dedicated community work as elders; Glenis Joyce, for her leadership and dedication to improving the lives of girls and women; Myles Anderson, for his exceptional talents as a gifted First Nation carver; Cadmus Delorme, for his remarkable student leadership as a young First Nations man; Kenneth T. Williams, for his outstanding achievements and success as a Cree playwright; Andrea Menard, for her remarkable contributions as a Metis singer and actor; Commanding Officer Captain Avery Beaudin, for her outstanding achievements in the Canadian Forces Reserves; George Kays, for his outstanding youth volunteer work in the community; Dr. Jean Barman, for her contributions as a historical writer and mentor to many graduate and post-graduate students; Dr. Peter Li, for his outstanding contributions to research and academic work on Chinese Canadians; John Lagimodiere, for his impressive and successful initiatives in cross-cultural training and communications; Louise B. Halfe, for her valuable contributions to Canadian literature as a Cree poet and educator; Shannon Loutitt, for her accomplishments as a Metis marathon runner and role model; Pauline and Herb Muskego, who after the loss of their daughter, Daleen Bosse, raised the public awareness of missing and murdered Aboriginal women; Gwenda Yuzicappi, for her tireless dedication to raising the awareness of missing and murdered Aboriginal women; Nora Cummings, for her lifelong contributions to the community as a Metis senator; Tyrone Wilfred Tootoosis, for his many accomplishments as a First Nation actor-storyteller; and Don Meikle, for his long-standing dedication to making a difference for disadvantaged youth.

These deserving individuals have each, in their own unique way, contributed to the betterment of the lives of people from Saskatchewan and our beautiful country of Canada. I am sure their families and friends are proud of their many outstanding accomplishments.