Parliament of Canada

PARLIAMENT of CANADA
Home Parliamentary Business Senators and Members About Parliament Visitor Information Employment

The Senate is the upper house in Canada’s bicameral parliamentary democracy. The original Senate, created in 1867, had 72 seats, but more seats were added as the country grew. The Constitution now directs that the Senate have 105 appointed members.

The Senate was created to counterbalance representation by population in the House of Commons. In recent years, the Senate has come to bolster representation of groups often underrepresented in Parliament, such as Aboriginal peoples, visible minorities and women. The Senate was also intended to provide Parliament with a second chance to consider bills before they are passed. Senators may pass bills, propose amendments to them or vote to defeat them.

Learn more about the Senate by exploring the publications below.

Photo gallery

 

COPYRIGHT / PERMISSION TO REPRODUCE

The photographic images on this site are covered by the provisions of the Copyright Act, and may be used for educational, private study, research, criticism, review or news reporting purposes, without the prior written consent of the owner. This is subject to the condition that the copyright in the image must be attributed to the Senate or other owner indicated and the image must not be used in a way that would undermine the dignity of the Senate.

Parliament of Canada Visitor Information
Order a Teacher Kit
Senate educational videos
SenTalk

Stay connected

sencom@sen.parl.gc.ca


Terms of use

Send mail to a senator
postage-free at:

The Senate of Canada
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada
K1A 0A4

Back to top

© Senate of Canada

PARLEMENT du CANADA
Accueil Travaux parlementaires Sénateurs et députés Au sujet du Parlement Visitez le Parlement Emplois

Le Sénat est la chambre haute dans la démocratie parlementaire bicamérale du Canada. Lors de sa création en 1867, il comptait 72 sièges, mais d’autres ont été ajoutés parallèlement à l’expansion du pays. Aujourd’hui, la Constitution en fixe la composition à 105 membres nommés.

Le Sénat a été créé pour faire contrepoids à la représentation démographique de la Chambre des communes. Ces dernières années, il a contribué à une meilleure représentation au Parlement des groupes souvent sous-représentés tels que les peuples autochtones, les minorités visibles et les femmes. Le Sénat a aussi été créé pour fournir au Parlement une deuxième possibilité d’examiner les projets de loi avant leur adoption. Les sénateurs peuvent adopter des projets de loi, proposer des amendements aux projets de loi ou voter pour les défaire.

Consulter les publications ci-dessous pour en savoir plus au sujet du Sénat.

Bibliothèque d'images

 

DROIT D’AUTEUR / AUTORISATION DE REPRODUIRE

Les images photographiques présentées sur ce site sont visées par les dispositions de la Loi sur le droit d’auteur et peuvent être utilisées à des fins éducatives, d’étude privée, de recherche, de critique, de recension ou de reportage médiatique sans le consentement écrit préalable du détenteur du droit d’auteur. Cette autorisation est accordée sous réserve de la condition que le droit d’auteur figurant dans l’image doit être attribué au Sénat ou à tout autre détenteur du droit d’auteur indiqué, et que l’image ne doit pas être utilisée d’une façon qui porterait atteinte la dignité du Sénat.

Parlement du Canada Renseignements pour les visiteurs
Trousse d'enseignement et série(s) de classe
Vidéos éducatives du Sénat
SenCauserie

Restez branché

sencom@sen.parl.gc.ca


Conditions d'utilisation

On peut écrire aux sénateurs, sans affranchissement, à l'adresse suivante :

Le Sénat du Canada
Ottawa (Ontario)
Canada
K1A 0A4

Haut de la page

© Sénat du Canada