Parliament of Canada

PARLIAMENT of CANADA
Home Parliamentary Business Senators and Members About Parliament Visitor Information Employment
Senate emblem
Home > The Senate of Canada on Twitter

The Senate of Canada on Twitter

@SenateCA is the account of the Senate Communications Directorate at the Senate of Canada. Produced by the Senate Communications team, @SenateCA aims to provide Canadians with news and information about Canada’s Upper Chamber.

Content

If you follow @SenateCA, you can expect to receive tweets about:

  • Activities in Senate committees - including notice of meetings with information about witnesses, location of meetings and links to live webcasts; alerts about committee travel outside Ottawa, notifications about report tablings, news conferences and links to full-text report PDFs.
  • The architectural and historical richness of Canada’s Upper Chamber and general interest content through web content links, photos, audio clips
  • Coverage of special events in the chamber
  • News releases and other communications products.
  • Updates about new content on the Senate website.

Just like the Communications team at the Senate of Canada who provide non-partisan and bilingual services to senators and the Senate Administration, @SenateCA will provide factual information about activities at the Senate.

We look forward to hearing from you about how to improve and expand our Twitter presence and about the kind of content which is of interest to Canadians. @SenateCA is an information service and not a platform for policy discussions. For discussion of public policy issues that are important to you, we encourage you to connect with senators directly.

To contact us about our Twitter account, please email: sencom@sen.parl.gc.ca.

The use of Twitter through @SenateCA is intended to facilitate access to public information. The Senate of Canada in no way verifies or confirms either the accuracy of user comments or their compliance with the guidelines outlined herein. The Senate of Canada does not endorse any of the views in comments posted by users. Comments in violation of the Terms of Use may result in @SenateCA blocking the user in question to prevent further inappropriate tweets.

If you are looking for more information about The Senate of Canada, information is available at www.sen.parl.gc.ca. French Twitter content is available by following @SenatCA.

Links to Other Websites

From time to time, @SenateCA may tweet links to websites that are not under the control of the Senate of Canada or the Parliament of Canada. These links are provided solely for the convenience of the users. The Senate of Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, currency or reliability of the content. The Senate of Canada does not offer any guarantee in that regard and is not responsible for the information found through these links, nor does it endorse the sites and their content.

Tweet Frequency

The number of tweets will vary, depending on the parliamentary calendar and the extent of activities. During some periods, we may tweet more or less frequently than average. You should expect to receive tweets during regular working hours, Monday to Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. EST. Many Senate activities, such as committee meetings, regularly occur after 5:00 p.m. EST, especially committee hearings outside of Ottawa. Based on available resources, @SenateCA will provide the timeliest coverage possible.

Availability

@SenateCA updates are also subject to downtime that may be out of The Senate of Canada‘s control, because Twitter servers are managed by a third party. As such, we accept no responsibility for the Twitter network becoming unresponsive or unavailable.

Following and Unfollowing

At this time, @SenateCA will automatically follow individuals and organizations who follow the @SenateCA account with an account published in English or French.

We will only take steps to remove or block subscribers if they do not abide by these Terms of Use. Users may also be reported to Twitter if they do not comply to the service provider's terms of use.

The appearance of a Twitter user as a follower of the @SenateCA does not imply endorsement, nor does The Senate of Canada following any particular user.

We respect your privacy. If you have a locked Twitter account, we will not follow you.

Retweets

@SenateCA may retweet relevant material posted by other accounts determined to be relevant to our followers and of significant value.

Direct Messages and @replies

Feedback is appreciated. All @replies and direct messages, as well as email sent to the Twitter account will be read, and any emerging themes or helpful suggestions will be passed to the relevant people in the Communications Directorate. Although we are not able to reply individually to all messages, they will be handled on a case-by-case basis and responded to when possible and appropriate.

@SenateCA cannot engage in issues of party politics or answer questions that break the rules of our commenting policy.

Members of the media are requested to contact the Communications Directorate using the usual channels.

Accessibility

The Senate of Canada is committed to achieving a high standard of accessibility and is working to address issues with third-party service provider platforms. A more accessible version of Twitter is located at http://www.accessibletwitter.com. If you have any problems accessing any information on the site, please contact sencom@sen.parl.gc.ca and we will endeavour to fix the problem or provide the information in an appropriate format.

Copyright

Information posted by @SenateCA is subject to the Copyright Act of Canada. For more information on copyright and information published by the Senate of Canada, see the “Important Notices” at http://www.parl.gc.ca/ImportantNotices.aspx?Language=E.

Official Languages

The Senate of Canada respects the Official Languages Act and is committed to ensuring that its information products are available in both English and French and are of equal quality. @SenateCA tweets are available in both official languages. Simply view the appropriate Twitter account: in English on @SenateCA, and in French on @SenatCA. Twitter.com is available in multiple languages including English and French. To change this user preference, go in your account settings and adjust accordingly.

Users should be aware that some links direct users to sites of organizations or other entities that are not subject to the Official Languages Act and that these sources are only available in the language in which they are written. The social media forum may also lead to different content between the English and French Twitter accounts due to the messages or comments from third parties.

Privacy

The @SenateCA Twitter account is not a Senate of Canada internet site. It represents the Senate of Canada presence on Twitter, a third-party service provider. Users are encouraged to read the privacy policy of all such service providers, including that of Twitter.

The Senate of Canada respects the privacy of users. Information that is shared with the @SenateCA Twitter account is used only for the purpose for which it was provided and is kept in accordance with information management practices. Information provided may be used for security or other internal purposes.

As a matter of safety and best practice on the internet, users are advised not to share personal information. Personal information includes home addresses and telephone numbers, photographs containing images of identifiable individuals, and any other information consisting of personal information as defined in section 3 of the Privacy Act

Additional Information

If you have questions about this policy, please contact the Senate Communications Directorate.

Contact Information

The Senate Communications Directorate of the Senate of Canada is located at:

40 Elgin Street
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada
K1A 0A4
Email: sencom@sen.parl.gc.ca

For media enquiries

Media representatives can contact the Senate Communications Directorate during regular business hours.

Thank you for taking the time to read this policy.

Commenting Policy – What is, and isn't, acceptable?

We welcome your comments and expect that conversations will follow the general rules of respectful civil discourse. You are fully responsible for everything that you submit in your comments, and all posted comments are in the public domain. Please keep your submissions relevant and be civil.

Please keep in mind that the Senate of Canada will not tolerate comments to an individual or an organization that are aggressive or abusive. We do not discriminate against any views but we reserve the right to edit or remove any comments that are:

  • contrary to the principles of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms
  • hateful, slanderous, insulting, or life-threatening
  • unsupported or inaccurate accusations against individuals or organizations
  • abusive, aggressive, coarse, explicit, vulgar, violent, obscene, or pornographic
  • personal or defamatory
  • encourage or suggest illegal activity
  • sent by someone who is not the original author (nor the copyright holder if applicable)
  • solicitations, advertisements, or endorsements of any financial, commercial or non-governmental agency (Similarly, we do not allow attempts to defame or defraud any financial, commercial or non-governmental agency.)
  • written in a language other than English or French
  • not sent by the author and/or posted by anonymous or robot accounts
  • repetitive posts copied and pasted by multiple users
  • unintelligible or irrelevant
  • posted using all CAPS (it is difficult to read and is interpreted as yelling)
  • that are too far off-topic and irrelevant
  • any other message that the forum moderators feel will not add to the normal flow of debate.
Back to top

© Senate of Canada

Parlement du Canada

PARLEMENT du CANADA
Accueil Travaux parlementaires Sénateurs et députés Au sujet du Parlement Visitez le Parlement Emplois

La Direction des communications du Sénat du Canada a un compte Twitter à @SenatCA. Produit de l’équipe des Communications du Sénat, @SenatCA vise à fournir aux Canadiens des bulletins d’actualité et des renseignements sur la Chambre haute du Canada.

Contenu

Si vous suivez @SenatCA, vous recevrez certainement des gazouillis sur les divers sujets suivants :

  • Les activités tenues dans les comités sénatoriaux, notamment avis de convocation et renseignements sur les témoins, lieux des réunions et liens vers les diffusions web en direct, alertes concernant les voyages des comités à l’extérieur du Canada, avis de dépôt de rapports, conférences de presse et liens vers le texte intégral des rapports en format PDF.
  • La richesse architecturale et historique de la Chambre haute du Canada, et de l’information d’intérêt général par des liens vers des contenus web, des photos et des clips audio.
  • La couverture des activités spéciales dans la chambre.
  • Les communiqués et autres produits de communication.
  • Le point sur les récents ajouts au site web du Sénat.

Tout comme l’équipe des communications du Sénat du Canada fournit des services non partisans et bilingues aux sénateurs ainsi qu’à l’Administration du Sénat, @SenatCA fournira des renseignements factuels sur les activités du Sénat.

N’hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous pour nous faire part de vos commentaires sur la façon d’améliorer et d’accroître notre présence sur Twitter ainsi que sur le type de contenu qui intéresse les Canadiens. @SenatCA est un service d’information et non une plateforme de débats politiques. Pour discuter des questions de politique publique qui vous tiennent à cœur, nous vous invitons à communiquer directement avec les sénateurs.

Pour communiquer avec nous à propos de notre compte Twitter, voici l’adresse courriel : sencom@sen.parl.gc.ca.

L’utilisation de Twitter par le compte @SenatCA vise à faciliter l’accès à l’information publique. Le Sénat du Canada tient à préciser qu’il ne vérifie ni ne confirme l’exactitude des commentaires des utilisateurs ou le respect des lignes directrices énoncées aux présentes. Le Sénat du Canada ne cautionne aucun des points de vue exprimés dans les commentaires affichés par les utilisateurs. Le compte @SenatCA se réserve le droit de bloquer l’auteur de tout propos contraire aux conditions d’utilisation afin d’empêcher l’affichage d’autres gazouillis inappropriés.

Si vous souhaitez obtenir plus de renseignements sur le Sénat du Canada, rendez-vous à www.sen.parl.gc.ca. Le contenu anglophone se trouve au compte @SenateCA.

Liens vers d'autres sites web

De temps à autre, @SenatCA peut afficher des liens vers des sites web ne relevant pas du contrôle du Sénat du Canada ou du Parlement du Canada. Ces liens sont fournis uniquement pour leur aspect pratique de consultation. Le Sénat du Canada ne se tient pas responsable de l’exactitude, de l’actualité ou de la fiabilité de leur contenu. Il n’offre aucune garantie à ce propos, ne se tient aucunement responsable de l’information à laquelle ces liens aboutissent et ne souscrit absolument pas à ces sites, non plus qu’à leur contenu.

Fréquence des gazouillis

Le nombre des gazouillis variera en fonction du calendrier parlementaire et de l’ampleur des activités. Pendant certaines périodes, il est possible que nous diffusions des gazouillis plus ou moins fréquemment qu’à l’ordinaire. Vous pourrez vous attendre à recevoir des gazouillis pendant les heures normales de travail, du lundi au vendredi de 8 h à 17 h, HNE. Bon nombre d’activités du Sénat, notamment les réunions des comités et particulièrement les audiences des comités à l’extérieur d’Ottawa, se tiennent habituellement après 17 h, HNE. En fonction des ressources disponibles, @SenatCA couvrira l’activité le plus tôt possible après sa tenue.

Disponibilité

Les mises à jour du compte @SenatCA sont sous réserve de temps d’arrêt qui pourraient échapper au contrôle du Sénat du Canada, car les serveurs Twitter sont gérés par un tiers. C’est pourquoi nous n’assumons aucune responsabilité en cas de panne ou de non-disponibilité du réseau Twitter.

Suivi et suivi inverse

Pour le moment, @SenatCA suivra automatiquement les particuliers et les organismes qui sont abonnés au compte @SenatCA et qui ont un compte en anglais ou en français.

Nous ne prendrons des mesures pour supprimer ou bloquer les abonnés que s’ils ne respectent pas les conditions d’utilisation. Il est possible de signaler à Twitter les utilisateurs qui ne respectent pas les conditions d’utilisation du fournisseur de service.

Le fait qu’un utilisateur de Twitter s’affiche comme abonné de @SenatCA ne signifie pas que nous lui accordons quelque caution, ni que le Sénat du Canada suive tel ou tel utilisateur.

Nous respectons votre vie privée. Si vous avez un compte Twitter protégé, nous ne vous suivrons pas.

Gazouillis republiés

@SenatCA peut publier de nouveau des documents affichés par d’autres comptes jugés pertinents pour ceux qui nous suivent et dont la valeur semble importante.

Messages directs et @réponses

Votre rétroaction est importante. Toutes les @réponses et tous les messages directs, ainsi que les courriels envoyés au compte Twitter seront lus et les suggestions utiles et les thèmes émergents seront transmis aux personnes appropriées de la Direction des communications. Nous ne pourrons répondre individuellement à tous les messages, mais nous traiterons ces derniers au cas par cas et y répondrons s’il y a lieu et lorsque ce sera possible.

@SenatCA ne peut s’engager dans des questions de politique partisane ou répondre à des questions qui enfreignent les règles de nos directives en matière de commentaires.

Nous invitons les journalistes à communiquer avec la Direction des communications par les voies habituelles.

Accessibilité

Le Sénat du Canada s’efforce d’offrir un niveau élevé d’accessibilité et travaille à résoudre les problèmes éventuels avec les plateformes des tiers fournisseurs de service. Une version plus accessible de Twitter se trouve à l’adresse http://www.accessibletwitter.com. En cas de difficultés à consulter l’information sur le site, prière de communiquer avec le sencom@sen.parl.gc.ca et nous nous efforcerons de régler le problème ou de vous fournir l’information dans un format adapté.

Droits d'auteur

Les renseignements affichés par @SenatCA sont visés par la Loi sur le droit d’auteur du Canada. Pour plus de précisions sur les droits d’auteur et les renseignements publiés par le Sénat du Canada, voir les « Avis importants » à l’adresse http://www.parl.gc.ca/ImportantNotices.aspx?Language=F.

Langues officielles

Le Sénat du Canada respecte la Loi sur les langues officielles et est résolu à veiller à ce que ses produits d’information soient offerts dans les deux langues et soient de même qualité. Les gazouillis @SenatCA sont offerts dans les deux langues officielles. Il suffit de consulter le compte Twitter approprié : en français sur @SenatCA et, en anglais, sur @SenateCA. Le site Twitter.com est offert dans de nombreuses langues, dont le français et l’anglais. Pour modifier cette préférence utilisateur, ouvrez les paramètres de votre compte et apportez les ajustements appropriés.

L’utilisateur doit savoir que certains liens dirigent les utilisateurs vers les sites d’organismes ou autres entités non visés par la Loi sur les langues officielles et que ces sources ne seront disponibles que dans la langue de rédaction. Les tribunes des médias sociaux peuvent également pointer vers des contenus différents entre les comptes Twitter français et anglais en raison des messages et des observations de tiers.

Protection des renseignements personnels

Le compte Twitter @SenatCA n’est pas un site Internet du Sénat du Canada. Il est la présence du Sénat du Canada sur Twitter, qui est un tiers fournisseur de service. Nous invitons les utilisateurs à lire les directives sur la protection des renseignements personnels de tous ces fournisseurs de service, notamment Twitter.

Le Sénat du Canada respecte les renseignements personnels des utilisateurs. L’information partagée sur le compte Twitter @SenatCA n’est utilisée que dans le but dans lequel elle a été fournie et sera conservée conformément aux pratiques de gestion de l’information établies. L’information fournie pourra être utilisée à des fins de sécurité ou à d’autres fins internes.

Par souci de sécurité, et à titre de bonne pratique, il est recommandé aux utilisateurs de ne pas partager sur Twitter des renseignements personnels. Par renseignements personnels, il faut entendre l’adresse, le numéro de téléphone, des photos où des personnes peuvent être identifiées, ainsi que tout autre renseignement personnel aux termes de l’article 3 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Renseignements supplémentaires

En cas de questions à poser à propos de la présente politique, prière de communiquer avec la Direction des communications du Sénat.

Coordonnées

La Direction des communications du Sénat du Canada est située à l’adresse suivante :

40, rue Elgin
Ottawa (Ontario)
Canada
K1A 0A4
Courriel : sencom@sen.parl.gc.ca

Demande de renseignement des journalistes

Les représentants des médias peuvent communiquer avec la Direction des communications du Sénat aux heures normales de bureau.

Merci d’avoir pris connaissance de la présente politique.

Politique sur les commentaires – ce qui est acceptable et ce qui ne l'est pas

Vos commentaires sont les bienvenus, et nous nous attendons à ce que la conversation suive les règles générales du discours civil respectueux. Vous assumez l'entière responsabilité de vos commentaires, et tous les commentaires sont du domaine public. Veuillez vous assurer que vos commentaires sont pertinents et soyez courtois.

N'oubliez pas que le Sénat du Canada ne tolère pas les commentaires offensants ou abusifs envers une personne ou un organisme. Nous ne faisons pas de discrimination contre quelque opinion que ce soit, mais nous nous réservons aussi le droit de modifier ou de refuser les commentaires qui présentent l'une des caractéristiques suivantes :

  • le non-respect de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés;
  • des propos haineux, diffamatoires ou choquants ou des menaces de mort;
  • des accusations non fondées sur des preuves ou inexactes contre des personnes ou des organismes;
  • des commentaires agressifs, grossiers, explicites, violents, obscènes ou pornographiques;
  • des attaques personnelles ou des déclarations diffamatoires;
  • des commentaires qui encouragent ou suggèrent une activité illégale;
  • des messages dont l'expéditeur n'est pas l'auteur (ou le titulaire des droits d'auteur, le cas échéant);
  • des sollicitations, des annonces ou des cautionnements concernant tout organisme financier, commercial ou non gouvernemental; de plus, nous n'autorisons pas les tentatives de diffamation ou de fraude à l'égard de tout organisme financier, commercial ou non gouvernemental;
  • des messages écrits dans une langue autre que le français ou l'anglais;
  • des commentaires qui ne sont pas envoyés par l'auteur ou affichés par des comptes anonymes ou automatisés;
  • des commentaires répétitifs copiés-collés par des utilisateurs multiples;
  • des messages inintelligibles ou sans rapport avec le sujet;
  • des messages affichés uniquement en lettres majuscules (ceux-ci sont difficiles à lire et peuvent donner à penser que l'auteur crie);
  • des messages trop hors sujet;
  • tout autre message qui, selon les modérateurs du forum, ne suit pas le cours normal du débat.
Le Président du Sénat
Sénateurs courants
Sites Web des sénateurs
À propos du Sénat
Travailler au Sénat
SenCauserie

Restez branché

sencom@sen.parl.gc.ca


Conditions d'utilisation

On peut écrire aux sénateurs, sans affranchissement, à l'adresse suivante :

Le Sénat du Canada
Ottawa (Ontario)
Canada
K1A 0A4

Haut de la page

© Sénat du Canada