Parliament of Canada

PARLIAMENT of CANADA
Home Parliamentary Business Senators and Members About Parliament Visitor Information Employment

The Usher of the Black Rod is a senior parliamentary officer appointed by Order in Council. The Black Rod, as the Usher is known to senators, is a senior protocol officer in Parliament and a floor officer of the Senate.

The name Usher of the Black Rod comes from the ebony cane that Black Rod carries as a symbol of authority. Under a 600-year-old parliamentary tradition, the Black Rod is the personal attendant and messenger of the Sovereign or the Sovereign’s representative when either is in Parliament.

Roles and Responsibilities

While the position of Usher of the Black Rod originated roughly 600 years ago, the Black Rod’s current responsibilities combine traditional, ceremonial and modern administrative functions.

In the Senate Chamber

The Usher of the Black Rod is responsible for the many aspects of the Senate Chamber. For example, the Usher leads the Speaker’s Parade that opens and closes every sitting of the Senate. Responsible for security within the Senate Chamber, he is present on the Senate floor during the sitting and is charged with permitting or denying entry to the Chamber if the Senate or the Sovereign so order. 

The Black Rod also coordinates the swearing-in ceremonies for newly appointed senators and makes arrangements for Senate participation at the funerals of serving or former senators. He makes all general arrangements in the Senate Chamber to help with the effective workings of the upper house (e.g. security, audio services, seating plans, etc).  Assisted by the Senate pages, whom he directs, the Black Rod cares for the needs of senators in the Chamber as well as in the adjoining Reading Room and work stations.

Coordinating Ceremonies

As the senior parliamentary protocol officer, the Usher is responsible for coordinating the ceremonies that take place within the Senate chamber, which is to say most ceremonies of Parliament. These include arranging the logistical, administrative and protocol details for each.

One key ceremony is the opening of Parliament or of a new session of Parliament, in which the Speech from the Throne is read by the Queen or the Governor General. The Usher makes most of the logistical arrangements for this event. He is Chair of a Working Group and an Inter-departmental Committee and coordinates the work of a parallel Secretariat for the Opening of Parliament. Other ceremonies in which the Usher is involved as a key organizer are state funerals and the investiture of the Governor General.

In addition, the Black Rod carries out ceremonial duties related to Royal Assent of bills. He also coordinates other ceremonies that take place in the Chamber, such as the Memorial Ceremony for Former Parliamentarians (June), and the launch of Veteran’s Week (November).

Usher of the Black Rod leading the Speaker's parade

Personal Attendant and Messenger

As personal attendant to the Queen and the Governor General when they are in Parliament, the Usher of the Black Rod is a member of the welcoming party for all visiting heads of state and heads of government. The Usher is also the parliamentary officer who greets the Sovereign or her representative, the Governor General, upon his arrival at the doors of Parliament.

As the Queen’s messenger, the Black Rod carries out a unique element of the Opening of Parliament ceremony: summoning the members of the House of Commons to the Senate when their presence is required. Upon the order of the Speaker of the Senate (on behalf of Her Majesty the Queen or His Excellency the Governor General), the Usher proceeds to the House of Commons and knocks three times on its main doors with the base of the Black Rod. Once the Usher is ceremonially challenged by the Sergeant-at-Arms of the House of Commons, approval to enter is granted by the Speaker of the House. The Usher is then admitted to the House and informs the Speaker that the presence of the members of the Commons is requested in the Senate Chamber. He then leads the assembled members in procession to the Senate.

Modern Administrative Functions

In addition to carrying out ceremonial duties, the Usher of the Black Rod is a member of the senior management team of the Senate Administration. The Black Rod also oversees the Senate Page Program, working with the Chief and Deputy Chief Pages to ensure that the pages offer appropriate service to Senators during sittings in the Chamber, in committee meetings and during other Senate events.

Educational outreach is a growing part of the Black Rod’s role. He meets with youth (at such events as the Forum for Young Canadians, Encounters with Canada and Model Parliaments), professionals (e.g. at the Canadian School of Public Service, the Many Facets of Parliament Hill Program, and with Parliamentary Tour Guides), and exchange groups (US Interns).

Officer and Officials of Parliament
Ushers of the Black Rod since 1867
Senate Page Program

Stay connected

sencom@sen.parl.gc.ca


Terms of use

Send mail to a senator
postage-free at:

The Senate of Canada
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada
K1A 0A4

Back to top

© Senate of Canada

Parlement du Canada

PARLEMENT du CANADA
Accueil Travaux parlementaires Sénateurs et députés Au sujet du Parlement Visitez le Parlement Emplois

Haut fonctionnaire parlementaire nommé par décret, l’huissier du bâton noir, ou l’huissier, comme le nomment aussi les sénateurs, est le haut fonctionnaire protocolaire du Parlement et l’un des hauts fonctionnaires du Sénat admis sur le parquet.

L’huissier du bâton noir tire son nom de la canne d’ébène qu’il porte comme symbole de l’autorité. S’inscrivant dans une tradition parlementaire de 600 ans, il fait office de serviteur personnel et de messager de la souveraine ou de son représentant lorsqu’ils se trouvent au Parlement.

Rôles et responsabilités

La fonction d’huissier du bâton noir a vu le jour il y a environ 600 ans, mais les responsabilités actuelles qui lui sont afférentes allient fonctions cérémonielles traditionnelles et fonctions administratives modernes.

Photo de l'huissier du bâton noir

Dans la Chambre du Sénat

L’huissier du bâton noir est responsable de nombreux aspects entourant le déroulement des travaux et des cérémonies au Sénat. Par exemple, c’est lui qui ouvre le défilé du Président à l’ouverture et à la clôture de chacune des séances du Sénat. Responsable de la sécurité dans la Chambre du Sénat, il est présent sur le parquet durant les séances et a la responsabilité de permettre ou de refuser l’entrée dans la Chambre si le Sénat ou le souverain l’ordonne. 

L’huissier coordonne en outre les cérémonies d’assermentation des nouveaux sénateurs et s’occupe de la participation du Sénat aux funérailles des sénateurs actuels ou anciens. Il prend aussi toutes les dispositions nécessaires pour assurer l’efficacité des travaux de la Chambre haute (en ce qui a trait à la sécurité, aux services audio, aux plans de salle, etc.). Assisté par les pages du Sénat qu’il dirige, l’huissier du bâton noir voit à répondre aux besoins des sénateurs dans la Chambre ainsi que dans la salle de lecture et aux postes de travail attenants.

Coordonner les cérémonies

En sa qualité de haut fonctionnaire protocolaire du Parlement, l’huissier est chargé de coordonner les cérémonies qui se déroulent dans la Chambre du Sénat, autrement dit, la plupart des cérémonies du Parlement. Ainsi, pour chacune de ces cérémonies, il doit s’occuper de tous les détails protocolaires, logistiques et administratifs.
 
L’une des plus importantes cérémonies parlementaires est l’ouverture d’une législature ou d’une nouvelle session du Parlement, au cours de laquelle le discours du Trône est lu par la reine ou le gouverneur général. L’huissier s’occupe alors de toutes les dispositions logistiques. Il assume la présidence d’un groupe de travail et d’un comité interministériel, et coordonne les travaux d’un secrétariat parallèle chargé de l’ouverture des législatures. Parmi les autres cérémonies auxquelles l’huissier fait fonction d’organisateur principal, notons les funérailles d’État et l’installation des gouverneurs généraux.

L’huissier assume également les fonctions cérémonielles liées à la sanction royale des projets de loi, et coordonne d’autres cérémonies qui se déroulent dans la Chambre du Sénat, comme le Service commémoratif pour les parlementaires décédés (en juin) et le lancement de la Semaine des anciens combattants (en novembre).

L'huissier du bâton noir ouvre la parade du Président

Serviteur personnel et messager

En sa qualité de serviteur personnel de la reine et du gouverneur général lorsqu’ils se trouvent au Parlement, l’huissier du bâton noir est membre du comité d’accueil des chefs d’État et de gouvernement en visite au Canada. Il est également le fonctionnaire parlementaire qui accueille la souveraine ou son représentant, le gouverneur général, à leur arrivée aux portes du Parlement.

À titre de messager de Sa Majesté, l’huissier assume une fonction unique lors de la cérémonie d’ouverture d’une législature : il convoque les députés de la Chambre des communes au Sénat lorsque leur présence y est requise. Sur l’ordre du Président du Sénat (au nom de Sa Majesté la Reine ou de Son Excellence le Gouverneur général du Canada), l’huissier du bâton noir se rend à la Chambre des communes et frappe aux portes principales trois fois avec la base du bâton. Après s’être identifié à la demande du sergent d’armes et que le Président de la Chambre lui ait accordé son consentement, l’huissier est admis dans l’enceinte de la Chambre où il informe le Président que la présence de la Chambre des communes est requise dans la Chambre du Sénat. Il conduit ensuite les députés réunis en cortège jusqu’au Sénat.

Fonctions administratives modernes

En plus d’assumer ses fonctions cérémonielles, l’huissier du bâton noir fait partie de la haute direction de l’Administration du Sénat. C’est lui qui supervise le Programme des pages du Sénat, dans le cadre duquel il collabore de près avec le premier page et le premier page adjoint pour veiller à ce que les pages fournissent des services appropriés aux sénateurs, que ce soit durant les séances à la Chambre, les réunions de comité ou lors d’événements qui se déroulent au Sénat.

Les activités pédagogiques de sensibilisation occupent aussi une part de plus en plus importante du rôle de l’huissier du bâton noir. Au cours de ces activités, il rencontre les jeunes (notamment par l’entremise du Forum pour jeunes Canadiens, des Rencontres du Canada et du Module de simulation du Parlement), les professionnels (par exemple à l’École de la fonction publique du Canada ou grâce au programme Les multiples facettes de la Colline du Parlement et au Programme des guides parlementaires), et les groupes d’échange (les stagiaires des États-Unis).
Hauts fonctionnaires et officiels du Parlement
Les huissiers du bâton noir depuis 1867
Le Programme des pages du Sénat

Restez branché

sencom@sen.parl.gc.ca


Conditions d'utilisation

On peut écrire aux sénateurs, sans affranchissement, à l'adresse suivante :

Le Sénat du Canada
Ottawa (Ontario)
Canada
K1A 0A4

Haut de la page

© Sénat du Canada